Kev946

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 Taycan GTS ST, VW EOS, 71 & 72 VW Camper
Country flag
OK so I'll be placing an order soon but wanted to check out my options on wall chargers. I'm in France and my house has 12KVA 12kw. We have electric heating and have managed to trip the power once. So on the limit. My Electricity supplier tells me 12KVA is the max for my house as we are on single phase. I've requested a quote for an upgrade to 3 phase. I can then have 15, 18 or 24kw. This is assuming it's available from the infrastructure to my house. They will also be quoting for installing a wall charger.

So my question is what do I ask for. If I upgrade to 24kw then an 11kw wall charger becomes and option I think. Should I also buy my own wall charger and then get an electrician to install. What type/make model should I go for to ensure Porsche warranty etc. Remember I'm in France.

Excuse my ignorance as I am still learning about EVs.

Thanks
Sponsored

Scandinavian

First Name
Peter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Taycan T, Tesla M3P, Aston Martin DB9, Porsche 996 C4 Cab
Country flag
I am also in France, but have three phase of 36 kVA into the house. I have the supplied expensive (only option at the time) Porsche Charger. I think they now supply a smaller simpler charger that can still deliver 11 kW on a three phase supply.

Any reputable EVSE like the Tesla Wall Connector etc will do just fine. It is a standardised unit and will not have any impact on any Porsche warranty. Remember it really is not a charger, but more a sophisticated really that supplies power to the car. The real charger is built into the Taycan. Preferably a EVSE that you can set to different charge levels, in case you would trip your fuse again. The Tesla Wall Connector and the Porsche PMCC can be set at low levels, should you wish to do so.